Regional School Safety Centers


The AESD works closely with OSPI and other statewide partners through the state’s School Safety and Student Well-Being Advisory Committee to support regional implementation of critical school safety and support services.


In 2019 the Legislature passed House BIll 1216 designed to increase school safety and support student well-being. As a result a statewide K-12 school safety network was developed, operated through a partnership between the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) and the Association of Educational Service Districts (AESD).

The bill established regional school safety centers (RCW 28A.310.510) in each of the nine ESDs which provide essential student safety and well-being services including school-based threat assessment coordination, suicide prevention and training, behavioral health supports, and comprehensive school safety planning and emergency/crisis management.